There are nine states in the northeastern part of the United States as defined by the Census Bureau. They are Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania.
The climates in the region range from rainfall to snowfall. Rainfall may reach more than 50 inches annually in upstate states such as New York and Pennsylvania. On the other hand, snowfall may be over 90 inches per year. Winters in the northeast are often extremely cold, while summers are generally humid and warm.

The peak of the Mount Washington, which is located in the state of New Hampshire, is the highest in the northeast. Its highest point is at 6,288 feet.

Meanwhile, the northeast, most especially the coastal area, has also been widely referred to as a megacity or megalopolis. This means that it’s composed of an interdependent network of cities that mix well with each other. Although the northeast is highly-characterized by urban or suburban traits, several rural characteristics are still prominent in the region.